Weeknote 4: Is 70 a lot?

I spent the week hanging out with Airport people from all over the world. IATA was having a passenger-experience working-group meeting and held it at QUT. My group, and all the other parts of the Airports of the Future project, presented our findings to-date. We held a tour of our research lab and showed off our newest toy research tool: Tobii eye-tracking glasses. A few of my PhD students gave the tour and demo. They did such an impressive job. It’s great to see them growing in confidence as researchers and as professionals.

I attended several IATA presentations. Whenever I speak with people from airports, I learn that their infrastructure and their organisations are even more complex than I had previously thought. At the same time, I learnt that the way that we think about airports is different and that, although we are just getting started, we already have new and interesting things to say to the industry.

Progress on my discovery grant: next to nothing. But that’s what weekends are for, right?

Leave a Reply

